Your parent lost their driving privilege and you have been told they should get a Florida ID card but don't know why you need it or perhaps you don't know how to obtain it. From voting to handling legal affairs an ID card is helpful where one no longer maintains a driver's license.
Here is a 5 step process to obtaining a Florida ID Card
1. Primary Identification: Be prepared to present one of the listed identification documents as proof of citizenship or legal presence:
a. Certified United States birth certificate, including territories and District of Columbia
b. Valid United States Passport or Passport Card
c. Consular Report of Birth Abroad
d. Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550 or Form N-570
e. Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561IMPORTANT NOTE: For individuals who have changed their name at some point due to marriage, divorce, or court order you will need to present an original or certified copy of your marriage certificate or court order. This is true regardless of whether Florida had previously issued a Florida Driver's license. If you have had multiple name changes be prepared to show the full chain.
2. Proof of Social Security Number: Gather one original of the following documents that show your complete name and social security number:
a. Social Security card
must be an original in your current full name
b. W-2 form (not handwritten)
c. Pay check/stub
e. Any 1099 (not handwritten)
f. None: If you do not have a Social Security Number visit:
3. Proofs of Residential Address: Gather TWO different documents from the following list showing your residential address: (internet printouts or faxes of these documents are acceptable)
Note: Your current driver license or ID card may not be used as proof of residential address. Proof must come from two different types of source.
5. At appointment: Show up at the appointment the documents you have gathered. Be prepared to pay the fee. The cost of an original ID card, renewal, or replacement Florida ID is $25. If your Florida ID card has expired before you renew it, you will have to pay a delinquent fee of $15 on top of the original $25 renewal fee.
All Florida state-sponsored DHSMV service centers accept these payment options:
Jason A. Waddell is a Board Certified Florida Elder Law Attorney who practices on the Panhandle of Florida.